Engine removal

Today I took the engine out of the frame so I can more easily work on it. It looks like it’s definitely been stored in a barn sometime under it’s life since I found hay on it!

Barn find, engine with hay on it

The engine also showed a crack on a stud for the crankcase cover. I saw the same on the rear brake hub, I figure some former owner must have dropped the bike while trying to change rear tire, or it was that now famous repainter.

The crack on the engine cover around the thread for engine studs

rear hub showing the crack in the hub corresponding to the same on engine case

Hopefully I can weld the aluminum case so I can rebuild the metal around the thread and if the hub is nice and strong otherwise I can still use it. Since Spanish ones are dead hard to find and Indians are mostly ok I prefer to keep my original.

The whole point of this resto is to not unnecessary throwaway stuff that actually does still work fine.

3 thoughts on “Engine removal

  1. Hello,
    I’ve the same problem on my Eibar Li1150 SII crankcase. There is a crack on a stud for the crankcase cover, but this stud hold the exhaust tail pipe too.
    On the Eibar lambrettas, engine and frame number are the same, and i’ve the chance to own a frame and an engine with corresponding numbers.
    So, i want to repair it. How do you have repaired you cranckase? Weld aluminium is possible? How i can do that?
    Thanks for you aswer.
    Thomas

    1. I will change my engine case to one from a Li150 S2 italian bike. I would like to keep the TV case but welding is expensive in sweden.
      You will have to grind down, weld it up and them re-drill the holes and grind away excess weld.

Leave a comment