Tank, Airbox and carb refit

It is time for the tank and air box to be added back to the frame.
The original tank was rusty and I didn’t want to have the same experience as with my other bike. Rust in the tank caused fuel starvation.

On my other bike I changed over to a stainless stell standard size tank. After one season I replaced it with a 11L tank instead. So I still had a tank left unused.

I started by adding the old, GP style, white tank straps.20130116-072815.jpgThey unfortunately proved to be to long. Probably since I’m using original style tank rubbers and the GP has fatter ones that are slotted.20130116-072827.jpgSo I changed back to the original satin black coloured tank straps. I think they look better. I did change the screws and nuts trunions for holding the tank straps together. The old ones were very difficult to turn and risked damaging the straps.20130116-072846.jpgI added more rubber to help raise the tank so that the fast flow tap could clear the frame. I hope this is enough. Only the tip of the tap is a little close to the mounts compared to without the extra rubber. Maybe I’ll add one more sheet of rubber just in case on fuel tap side.20130116-072859.jpgFinally I’ve added the extra carb that’s been laying around and unused since that fuel starvation fault diagnosing (It wasn’t the Jetex fault eventually so I was left with a spare Jetex).
I jetted it with dellorto jets and to GP standard jet sizes since this is a 22mm one. The inlet manifold is a 22 version that fits the TV175 cylinder.

Leave a comment