Front & rear sprocket

Went down to my garage today to continue work on my engine. It was time for the front and rear sprocket plus the chain.

After a closer inspection on the older rear sprocket and clutch spider I decided to replace them with new ones. My rear sprocket was oct the cush drive type and sticky did not recommend it at all. Here you can see my test assembly before adding the chain and before tightening everything up.

20120228-225026.jpg

At first I had some problem to fit the front sleeve over the crank but with the help of a little grease it slider on well.

20120228-225040.jpg

I’ve decided to skip the lover chain guide and go with a modern nylon type. After testing various ways I decided not to use the nylon bottom one and just add the upper tensioner.

20120228-225118.jpg

I had problems deciding if the chain was to tight. I couldn’t get the feel of how much 5 to 6 mm should be. More on that on the next post.

Leave a comment